Finding Time to Run

Hi, I'm fairly new to running - back to it after a break. My main problem is finding time to run. I'm not a morning person, lunchtime is difficult so it would have to be evenings. Do others run before they eat, eat and run later, or do I just have to get up earlier?

Comments

• Raingirl

I'm no morning person but I get an enormous satisfaction from going out first thing. The roads are much quieter, it always seems to be less windy and I feel so good when I get to work knowing I've already exercised.

Just try it once and see if it works for you!
  • Thanks Helen,

A few times I've been swimming first thing, and I do feel so much more awake when I get to work. I'll just have to try getting up an hour earlier, the cat wakes me at 6 am anyway to go out - I may as well make use of her as an alarm clock!

Helen T
  • Less abuse in the morning too
    When I was training for the matathon, I got up early cos it was light, and the race was to start at 8 am
    Physiologically, its harder in the morning, but you can get used to it
    Gives you more time in the evening then as well
  • I always run first thing in the morning. Before breakfast, before work and before the heavy traffic has hit the roads.
    It is very liberating and refreshing to run in the morning before the day's properly begun. In fact now, I don't feel that the day has begun properly unless I run first!
    It's become a way of life.
  • Hi all,

I'm not a morning person myself and wondered if you lot had any good tips to help movitate us late owls to get out of our warm cosy bed - especially now with winter approaching.