Headache

I've noticed that when I run long runs that if I start to up the speed I start to get a pressure at the back of my head. (Roughly where neck meets the head). It's not painful but a little worrying. I don't get it on runs of less than 10K's. Is there anyone who has similar, know what it is. I'm wondering whether it's sinus or something more serious.

Comments

• Hi NPNG

I also have the same problem. I've narrowed it down to a couple of things - dehydration is the primary cause.

And also running too hard. If you are doing a long run it should be slow - save your speed sessions for shorter runs.

After races, I often have a headache like this for the rest of the day - I think it's due to effort, which I expect on race days, but you shouldn't be working that hard on training days.

Hope this helps - I'm no doctor and can only tell you what I've experienced!
  • i get that too - the neck pain and the headaches
    and i am assuming its dehydration as well as i am rubbish at taking on fluids before i start

• SlugstaSlugsta ✭✭✭
    Could also be down to tension of the neck muscles especially if, like me, you tend to loook down a lot when you're r*nning. It's worth checking out your posture and trying to keep the head and neck in good alignement - no harm done if this is not the cause.
  • As has been pointed out...one of the main causes of headaches, particularly in warm weather, is dehydration.

You wouldn't run a car with hardly any water in the radiator, especially in warm weather...the same principle applies. Apart from the noticeable physiological factors such as headaches, your muscles will overheat causing them to be less effective and more prone to injury.
  • Gotta go with the hydro theory I am afraid. Lost 4lb yesterday on a 9 miler with good hydration. . Can be a bugger
  • My sister used to get loads of headaches, no she's not a runner. She never used to drink water. Since she has begun to drink water has had no headaches. I rest my case!