sciatica

Good morning all.
Can anyone recommend any self help treatments for sciatica.

Should I use ice or heat?
Do nerve stretches help or should they be avoided?

What about back strengthening excises?

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Comments

• I'm no expert, but I did have problems with this myself.

Do you know what's causing the problem - is it tight muscles in the hip or problems with the back?

Postural exercises like Pilates are good anyhow. There are also stretches (the figure four one for example) if it's caused by a tight piriformis.
  • Its the misses problem, not sure whats causing the problem but aggravated it in bed!!!!!

An anti-inflammatory has helped this morning.
  • It could be a prolapsed disk (don't panic - I just remembered that was another cause, it wasn't when you said it happened in bed!).

I'd suggest the some sort of physio if the problem persists, but it might well calm down if it was just a temporary jarring type thing.
  • Sub 4 Fruity Reindeer.

More info on the stretch please. I too suffer from this problem and am trying to put together some stretching excercices to help
  • MuttleyMuttley ✭✭✭
    There's a fair amount about this on the forum - do a search for sciatica.

Briefly - my experience is that it's often posture-related. The stretch that relieves it for me is to lie flat on my back and bring my knees up to my chest. Hold for 10, then repeat as necessary. I can feel it stretching and loosening the muscles around the sciatic nerve area. Doesn't mean it'll work for you, of course, but worth trying.

Like I say, there's a fair amount on old threads. Happy hunting!
  • Troy:

1) Lie flat on your back
    2) place feet flat on the floor a foot or two from your bum, so the angle at the knees is about 90 degrees
    3) Put one foot over the opposite knee - so the ankle rests on the thigh just above the knee
    4) Reach through the "hole" and grab the back of the thigh that has the ankle resting on it