Fat Blokes.

I've got an annoying injury and I can't figure out for the life of me why it happened.
I know some things just do, but this is weird. I have 'patellar grind', apparently, and can't help but wonder if it might be partly because of ageing running shoes.
But then I think... I've hardly worn them!
I wear them in the gym sometimes, and occasionally while cycling too, but have had them since May 1st. Mileage has been pretty paltry since then - I think at most they've done a maximum 180- 200 miles on the road of actualy running.
So as a fat bloke, do I need to replace shoes more frequently to avoid nagging injuries or does 300-500 miles still stand for a pair of shoes? I'm about 16 stone and not exactly light on my feet - very dense, only about 5'6".
Anybody? Is this a feasible theory?

Comments

• Yes

500 miles too far!!
  • Oook!Oook! ✭✭✭
    As a rule yes but are you sure that you are wearing shoes appropriate to your running style?
  • I'm no expert, but I think it will depend on the type of shoes you have bought.

If they are lightweight cushioned models, I suspect you will wear them out well before the 300-500 miles since the impact forces are much greater.

If you have some 'sturdier' shoes such as brooks beast, which are often recommended for the heavier runners, I would think they would be fine for 300-500 miles.

I myself pronate quite badly, and when I started, I had lightweight cushioned shoes and very quickly destroyed the cushioning. Even though I knew I hadnt run 300 miles in them, they were definately shot. Once in more supportive shoes, they last fine.
  • Ook - spent two years pretty much injury free running in them, so I think they're good for me. Had a couple of people check out the gait etc and they reckon these are the ones. However, I do plan to go and get it checked out once more using 'puter technology just to see if it comes out with anything different.

Any excuse to buy stuff.