Why am I slowing down

Earlier this year I had 8 weeks off running due to illness,(I was all ready to run the Bramley 20) managed to do some bike work in the gym - but, I was back running at the end of March and have been doing 10-13 mile runs at the weekend, have since had time off for a holiday(which did involved cycling most days) and a further week off due to illness - again, but I feel I have gone backwards with a vengeance. I am finishing races at times not much better than I was doing 2 years ago I am increasing my training days to 4 or 5 depending on work etc.etc. and training as often as possible with other people to help motivate me - but, help, what else can I do to get back to where I was - or is this just a case of getting older?? I won't let age get in the way tho'.

I am feeling very de-motivated at the moment.

Whizzy

Comments

• Whizzy: I am no expert but are you getting enough fuel into yourself before going running?

Nic
  • ChaosChaos ✭✭✭
    I found myself slowing down a bit after doing lots of cycling so not sure if there's a connection there.

I would pick up the speedwork though, just doing weekend long runs will eventually mean that you're only good at weekend long runs!

Perhaps drop the training days to just 3 with 1xhill session, 1xintervals/trackwork and the weekend long run with a rest day in between each?
  • It's not your age, Whizzy. When 91-year-old men run marathons, NOTHING is allowed to be put down to your age. Especially as you're probably younger than I am...

A couple of thoughts. First, have you fully recovered from your recent bout of illness, or was that bout of illness your body's way of trying to tell you to ease off a bit?