When should I apply for a charity place?

This is my first attempt to get into the London Marathon.
The ballot results don't come out till the 1st December.
I have just been reading the charity adverts in Runner's World December edition and a lot are suggesting people apply now.
Also a lot of the talk on the forums are about applying for charity places.

I thought I had to see if I got into the ballot, and then apply to the charities.

Do I apply, can I apply now, or do I wait till after the 1st December?

Can I have your advice please?

Damian.

Comments

• Has your cheque been cashed yet ? If not there is only a small chance you have a place and odds-on you have not.

try

www.crunch.org.uk

Many charities will let you sign up now, the deal being that you raise the target if you have a golden bond place, or whatever you can manage if not.
  • I applied in august

get on with it
  • I bequethed my entry fee, so won't that be cashed anyway.

I really want to run for St Ann's Hospice, and they told me to apply for one of their places if I did not get through the ballot.

I would love to run for them, but would run for any charity rather than risk missing a place in the London Marathon.

Running for a charity other than St Ann's would feel like prostituting myself, but I would do it to be in.

OK, typing this is helping my thinking. So...

Do I prostitute myself now, to ensure I get in?
    Or do I wait and remain faithful, and risk the chance of being out?

So give me your answers... should I Prostitute, or Stay Faithful?

Damian.
  • Damian
    "prostitute" uis a strong word
    if you fell like that, stick to rpinciples and do another marathon
    I assume st Anns doesnt do Gold Bond places
  • fi fifi fi ✭✭✭
    Thanks for the link Welsh Alex,i have just applied for a place.
  • fi fifi fi ✭✭✭
    Damien,couldn't you raise money for two charities?