what happens at 10 miles?

I have been running for 18 months and managed 3 halfs this year. I train 3 times a week including 1 long 1 speed and 1 hill.
All now goes well. I haved got down 2 50 mins for 10k and 1.30 for 10 miles. My problem is no matter how slow or quick I go if my long run goes over 10 miles I blow up. Any ideas or do I just need to go threw this by doing the longer distance more often?

Comments

• How long is your long run? Maybe you need to lengthen it a little.

What sort of run do you do the day before? Your legs might still be tired from that?

Do you run alone? It could all be in the mind & a running parter might help you smash through this invisible barrier.

Do you eat before your long run? You should - even if it's just a banana or a slice of wholemeal toast with a dash of honey
  • Hi there,

I'm no expert, but I run at a similar pace and remember finding it difficult to get over that ten mile barrier.

It's very tempting to train hard, at something close to race pace, all the time. But I found that the way to increase my the stamina and really stretch the distance was to go REALLY slow.

How about every other week, dropping the speed & the hill & just going for slow distance. When I say slow I mean a good minute to two minutes a mile slower than your normal pace. How about two 8 milers at 10m/mile (1hr 20) and a twelve miler at 11m/mile (2hr 12). I know this seems painfully slow, but it'll get you through the distance, and if you do it a few times - maybe stretch the long one up a bit more as you go - then you'll find that come race day at a half you'll be able to keep your race pace going the whole way and not blow up.
  • JjJj ✭✭✭
    it's a little wall!

try a gel or some jelly babies at mile 7 or 8.
  • A 50 min 10K is a better time than a 1:30 ten - I'd say you should be able to manage 1:24, if you've been doing the mileage. Did you slow significantly on the ten? If so, could it just be down to pacing?
  • JJ's right.