Running on roads

I’ve discovered (I think) why I find it more difficult to run on the roads compared to a treadmill. On the treadmill you don’t move, obviously, so have no perspective on how fast you’re going. Last night 5K took me 39 minutes to run (I'm a complete beginner), therefore I run a pace of 7.8 minutes per KM. On the roads I don’t have a pacesetter so run at a pace I’m not embarrassed with – I’ve worked out that I ran at a pace of 4.6 minutes per KM. So I think my problem is that I run much faster on the roads and therefore get tired more quickly. Do you have any tips on setting my pace better?

Thanks, Lisa

Comments

• Lisa

Unfortunately getting your pace right only comes with time and experience. You may have to learn the hard way in races (like I did!). It took me about 7 or 8 marathons before I even began to get it right!!

Keep at it

ATB
  • stick some lead in your pockets when running outside !

• I used to run before i got injured and have now started again. (hmmm).
    previously i would run at stupid paces to set of. I had no dicipline and wanted to get bck quickly!
    Although my pace for a run was decent i would be breathing out my rear end on all training runs, i would get v.fit but injured and demotivated after 3-4 mths.
    Now changed to running for enjoyment (runnings sake)and have seen huge improvements and i feel much better, try either a 1:25000 ordanance survey map or using a heart rate monitor. Others may disagree with the monitor but if you use the info on this site to find the correct training levels it will slow you down a bit. I dont know if thats a help or hinderence.
    regards steve.
  • Weathers good tonight....still think I'll stick to the trusty treadmill....easy is best! Stay calm!
  • On the road, you really do need at least 10mins of very slow warm-up pace, otherwise you get tired out quickly, as you describe. Each run becomes a "pace" session, so it is hard to build up endurance.