Beginner or not ?

when do you stop being a beginner and start to be a recreational runner?

Comments

• Hi there.
    I think the definition I used was when I moved from beginner to intermediate as defined in the "Runners Handbook" (by Bob Glover) - the criteria set is that you can run non-stop for 20 minutes.

BTW if you haven't seen this book - I can wholly recommend it - it got me from a standing start to a marathon in 2 years.

Good luck with your running
    Bouncer
  • By that definition I would have been intermediate on day one. I guess its when you don't feel like one anymore! I still feel like a beginner compared to all these club geezers and Ive been running on and off for 5 yrs. When I ran my first race that wasn't the Great North Run and found that I didn't come last or even nearly last then I felt like I was no longer a complete novice.
  • Thanks, but I am still not happy with the answers.
    How can I ask RW? They must know as they are the one asking us what kind of runners we are?
    They must have their own definition, don't they?!!!!!!
    Cheers.

• No, not necessarily. It depends what you think you are to some extent. There are no 'rules'.

If you're happy being classed as a beginner untill you've run your first marathon, some of us might think that a bit odd, but we don't really care!

I'd suggest maybe for the first few months you're probably a beginner - however much you run - then you can probably move into a different sort of category?

• What does it matter ?
    I was a beginner at Ironman once, but I was still training 20 hrs a week !
  • I felt like a beginner right up until my first race.......................
    Unfortunately I still felt like a beginner during and after it as well! I guess whatever your own personal milestone is should be the criteria by which YOU judge YOURSELF.

Mine was the GNR and now I feel like i've earned my spurs (or at least a jolly nice medal anyway).
  • ok, here is my story: