5 k treadmill times

I am interested in 5k times on a treadmill just to see where I am at really. I would like to know what times a beginner,an average club runner and a good club runner would turn in. I am talking about a treadmill on the flat with no elevation

Comments

• I would class myself as a beginner - usually get between 32-35 mins on the flat.
  • Pammie*Pammie* ✭✭✭
    Hi Rob that is so difficult.

Some people find a treadmill so much easier than outside.

But i do not even with the special air conditioning that goes with the treadmills i run on in the gym.

Outside at my best i can run round about 25 minutes at my worst 28 minutes race situation

on my own in in training maybe around 30 minutes.

But on the treadmill its approaching 35 minutes. I've been running regularly since June 2003 and i suppose i finish in the 3rd quarter of finishers

• depends on age also

some excellent club runners will do carp on treadmil.

what time are you doing?
  • Also take at least 30 seconds to warm the dam thing up to speed!
  • I've PB'd 19min22 road and 19min57 treadmill- though I think the former was a bit of a fluke as I havent got close to that lately!

My main problem on the treadmill is overheating, but on the plus side its easier to force yourself to maintain a steady pace.
  • Rob

It really is age dependent, However at near enough 50 and after 5 years of running I hit about 21 mins on the treadmill but that is at 1% incline otherwise its easier than the road.
  • My Pb so far is 27.35 but I was not really attempting to set a pb(although I was sweating like a greasy pig and would probably not beat by much anyway.) I just wanted a rough guide to compare to
  • I have a strange image of good club runners doing Carp on the treadmill and there was me thinking this was a good clean site.
  • "was me thinking this was a good clean site" LOL we can get a bit dirty!

27 is not bad. do you know a 5k route outside you can time yourself over or even race a 5k?