Retaining Marathon Fitness?

Completed my 4th marathon in 3 years (2nd FLM) on Sunday in just under 3 hours 20.

In terms of keeping up my marathon fitness and until I decide what my next step is going to be, is there any training programs/schedules out there on maintaining your marathon fitness?

Or for the seasoned marathon runners, what sort of schedules do you follow?

I don't want to loose what I've acheived and start over again in a few months time for a Sep/Oct marathon.

Comments

• Well done on your time!

Personally I just keep on running doing varying distances, anything up to about 10 miles, maybe the odd half. I don't do longer ones because I don't have to!! I wouldn't continue training at the same intensity that I do when training for a marathon, mainly because I don't think my body could take that constantly. I would not expect to maintain this current level of fitness and would expect it to dwindle until I train again for the next one. I'm no expert but I'm sure I read somewhere that if you continue training like this you end up getting slower and slower rather than improving. If you run regularly you will still be fit and be better advantaged for when you start your next training programme.... refreshed!

I could be talking rubbish and someone out there may know better but that's how I feel.
  • take a gentle break to relax mind and body after rigours of recent success. After 2 weeks start summer schedule with gentle runs of say 6-8 miles a day plus a gym circuit training session to maintain fitness levels and keep momentum going.
    Running is for life - its tough man!
  • OuchOuchOuchOuch ✭✭✭
    Sean G

Similar to you run I run a Spring and Autumn marathon. After a weeks complete rest, I find that running a few 10K and half marathons over the summer - say one a month is a great way to keep focus, fitness, sharpness and provide a good base for an enhanced Autumn performance. Thhen start to build mileage up again from August onwards.