Digital Pianos

Anyone got one? Anyone played one?
THinking about buying but I'm not sure which? Yamaha Clavinovas seem OK, but wonder if I the cheaper stage pianos are much good? What about Technics n Roland?

Anyone got anyideas, or shall I naff off to www.pianochat.com or whatever?

Comments

• haven't got space for a real one. Plus, if i buy digital, I can plug headphones in and only I can hear how bad I am!
  • I'm no expert on pianos, in fact my piano playing makes Les Dawson sound good, but you can get ickle ickle pianos that doesn't really take up much more space than a Clavinova.

If you want a Clavinova, I believe they now have weighted keys, so they feel a bit more like a real piano...
  • yeah plenty of digi pianos have "real feel" keyboards. just spoiled for choice so I'm bound to make the wrongone. Guess a trip to Chappell of Bond street is in order to try a few out
  • Yup... Never actually been in there, just get stuff sent!
  • Anyway, a keyboard ain't a keyboard unless it has a samba and 16-beat rhythm option.
  • and a cheesey little demo choon.
    It's a quite mind-blowing shop. loadsa sheet music as well as pianos
  • I know they've got loads of sheet music! That's why I use em!
  • cns

Can't tell you which one to go for, but I did some research a while back. Make sure that you get weighted hammer action. Not quite sure that the sound is the same as an acoustic, but there are plenty of advantages. Tuning an acoustic piano every 6 months or so is such a pain.

Hope you find the right one. Research on Google, once you've established a price limit.

Regards

FB
  • Hi CNS,