10k to 100k in 12 months?

Hi All,

I just started running properly 3 months ago and completed my first race, a 10km, in Phuket last week. Now I'm getting all excited (especially after reading Dean Karnazes' book: "Ultra-marathon Man") and want to run the Mongolia Sunrise to Sunset 100km run next year (July 2008).

Is this a realistic target or am I getting ahead of myself? Anyone who has suggestions on training and a schedule for when I do my first marathon, and any other advice would be appreciated.

Comments

• I can't see why not, but I'm no expert. Nothing is impossible as the Nike advert says.
    The very best of luck to you.
  • Er, it may be a tad too soon Flying Knickers. Assuming you're going to build your training up (sensibly) to half maras then a full ones, see how you feel after your first 26.2

Then consider the prospect of more than doubling that distance.. 62 miles, sh*t!! Maybe someone who's done ultras will be able to give you some specific training advice.
  • I'd think a sensible approach would be best here - work your way up slowly.

I've seen so many people take up running, get carried away with too many miles and then they have quit with injuries.

Theres no rush for that race is there ? It will be there in 2009 ?

A 10k is nothing compared to 100km. Even nothing compared to a mere marathon of 42km.
  • well, as long as you arent bothered about time

yes, why not

if you are botherd about time, then wait till you have more experience
  • Ultra runners............nutters :0
  • yes , they are taff

bloody nutters
  • PH has it right if you just want to get around then yes why not. Stealing someone elses phrase...

(if you have got the time) Its easier to train to run further than it is to run faster.

But if you want to do it for a time and dont want to walk any of it then the odds are very heavily stacked against you. You are likely to pick up to many injuries upping your training mileage in that short a period.