Motivation needed

Hi there,

I've been running for a couple of months and I've got up to 3.5 miles on the treadmill so far.

I set an aim of reaching 10km before my 25th birthday (less than 2 weeks away now).

I seem to have got stuck at just over 5km and I'm feeling a bit demoralised at the moment because my birthday is fast approaching and I hate the thought of not being able to achieve it.

Any motivational hints and tips to help?

Thanks guys.

Donna

Comments

• I thought the golden rule was not to up your mileage by more than 10% a week, so to double it in a forthnight might not be a good plan? Why don't you follow a proper 10k plan from the schedules on the left, otherwise you might have an injury for a birthday present?

Personally, and this is just MHO, treadmills are motivation killers. Get outside...
  • agree nam - get outside, much nicer and more interesting.

Why not build up time on your legs rather than distance to start with?
  • Give yourself a better target. Why don't you enter a 10K race? Ditch the treadmill and get outside. Its not too bad the weather, enjoy it, you'll regret it when the winter is here....

Look at the events section and maybe enter a 5K near you soon see how you get on ad take it from there.

Treadmills aren't real miles. Just because you can run a million miles on one, doesn't mean you can do it in the real world!.

Come on, out of your shell, join us plodding pavements....

Go on enter a race.....

Look into the eyes. the eyes...

Not around the eyes..
    Into the eyes..

Enter a 5K

• waycatwaycat ✭✭✭
    Donna, you've reached 5k in a couple of months - that's good!

As has already been said, trying to increase too quickly is not recommended, as it may well result in an injury.

So I know it's a cliche but "slow and steady wins the race".

Good luck, and enjoy your running!