New to the UK - what do you guys wear in winter?

I'm a newbie (hi everyone!) with an odd question.  I moved over here from Australia last year and have finally run out of excuses for not training.  I'm struggling to buy running gear though - the sports shops I've popped into seem more like fashion shops.  I am also not sure what to get - I am assuming that winter will be too cold to wear shorts, but i just can't imagine training in tracksuit pants - especially when it rains.

I have googled this extensively but can't seem to find the answer - can anyone help?

Comments

• can we just enjoy our week of summer before talking about winter clothing ?

• I would certainly freeze wearing shorts in winter. How about leggings? Capri length or full length - there are lots of styles and weights of material to choose from. Some are made of very light breathable lycra and don't feel sweaty and horrible at all.

• I wear shorts all year, as I am a *real* man.

Seriously though, in the winter just a smearing of vaz on your main muscles and that is plenty to stay warm.
  • Yeah, but red white and blue limbs do not a pretty sight make.
    And perhaps Jungle Jane has no desire to be a real man?

• Oh my word M.eldy - do you mean to say that this is not winter weather?  Shriek!

Thanks all for your replies!

I am totally squeamish about vaseline - I really loathe the texture.  My mum told me that it was made from whale blubber as a kid and I was 18 years old before I found out it's not true and she had just been trying to gross me out.  I never quite got over that...thanks mum.

I might give leggings a go if I can find them - and hat and gloves?  oh my word...perhaps I just found my perfect excuse for slacking offimage

Never been to Canberra kittenkat - but I've been to the snow a few times.  Awesome stuff is snow - it chills your beer in under 3 minutes! 

• MuttleyMuttley ✭✭✭

<gapes in amazement at someone who would emigrate from Oz to here>