How does Ballot Work?

Sorry if this has already been discussed but i am useless with the search engine!

How does the Ballot work for the FLM? I've just sent off my very first application and whilst i'm not expecting to get in any time soon (I reckon i'll be one of those who gets a go after the 5th attempt!) I was wondering how they do pick people? Are all the names put in a database and the computer ramdonly selects them?

Comments

• Its all a bit Charlie and The Chocolate Factory I think. Oompah Loompahs pick them out at random I think.  V secretive !

• Has my cheque been cashed yet ?
  • WilkieWilkie ✭✭✭
    I asked this question way back when I was a newbie on the forum, and answer came there none...

Logistically it seems like a major headache - how to sort the successful envelopes from the unsuccessful, in order to pull out the cheques to cash.

Either they just put the first 20,000 received into the 'IN' bucket and shred the rest, or there is one hell of a filing system.

Or maybe, as the data is entered from the envelopes, the computer randomly says 'IN' or 'OUT', and the envelope goes in the appropriate bin!
  • They must process every entry as you will be sent the entry form for next year's race, as well as providing a database of runners to sell to other companies (if you haven't ticked the "no mail" box.
  • It is well known that the ballot is controlled by the Masons.
  • I think one of the Storylines in Spooks this year is about the FLM ballot.
  • Actually thinking about it Dave Bedford is loony enough to have an oompah loompah workforce.

• I have been entering the ballot for 13 years now and at the end of the day its down to three things

1/ Predicted finish time

2/ Number of times rejected in last 5 years  

3/ Number of times excepted in last 5 years