Quadricep Pain

I have been experiencing sharp pins and needles in the medial quadricep area for the past 4 months now. After consulting the doctor who diagnosed it as tendonitis i took ibuprofen and gave it the RICE treatment.

I then went to see a manipulation therapist who checked and alligned my pelvis and posture and applied sports massage. This helped a bit but due to his popularity, I haven't seen him for about 4-5 weeks. In the meantime I visited a pretty bad physio who didn't really tell me anything i didn't already know.

Is this quadricep tendonitis and what is the correct treatment?? I have been doing stretches and exercises every other day but still feel the pins and needles sensation often. Not pain as such but discomfort.

Any advice is much appreciated.

D

Comments

• Anyone gonna offer some advice...?:-(
  • NessieNessie ✭✭✭
    Hmm, never heard of that one Darren. I didn't know there were tendons in the quads, but then I'm an accountant, so what do I know?

If the manipulation worked and the therapist "aligned" your pelvis, it may be that you have an imbalance causing your discomfort and that further similar treatment could be the only route to go. Are there any chiropractors/osteopaths in your area who you could see, if your other guy is too busy. It may well be worth travelling a bit to get the right treatment.
  • "Are there any chiropractors/osteopaths in your area who you could see"

I've never actually seen one before so may be an option. The pain initially seemed to be centred on a spot on the knee then spread to the medial quadriceps and this is where most of the discomfort is?

It all seemed to stem from running on the treadmill and stepper in the gym!
  • Darren - I've had this and still get it if I don't do the remedial exercises frequently enough