Sore achilles?

Hi All,

Needing a bit of advice.  I'm a bit of a beginner (doing up to 15 miles per week), and have started training for a HM in Feb.

Last Wednesday, I was doing speed intervals on the treadmill, and when changing from walking to running about halfway through, I felt a small pain at the back of my ankle.  I carried on a finished my session, and it was a bit sore afterwards, so I rested until yesterday, by which time it didn't hurt at all.

So yesterday I did 40 mins steady on the treadmill (damn weather!), and it started twinging again after 20 minutes, but wasn't too bad.  It's now feeling like it was last week.

So my question is really this - is it my achilles?  I'm unsure because it's only hurting in one spot.  The best way to explain it is that it feels like a bruise (tender to poke), and if you were to pinch the left achilles between your left thumb and forefinger, where it sticks out just above the heel, it's painful where the thumb is.  It doesn't really hurt when I flex the foot, but is quite sore going up and down stairs.

There's no swelling or redness, and the rest of the tendon and calf muscle feels fine.  So have I damaged the tendon, or maybe the soft tissue next to it?  Any advice appreciated.

Sorry for such a long-winded question!

Comments

• sounds like an achilles problem.