Advice for Beginner

Comments

• What if I don't start my runs feeling like I"m killing myself though? I don't really 'feel' anything but good.  I just can't seem to get over the hump of a certain distance and I didn't realise what it was (going too fast) until I ran with my partner (who has a stopwatch for doing his own runs) and saw that our short 'route' took me less time from one week to the next (2.3 miles was 41 seconds faster).

I guess I don't know what you mean by 'the red zone' image  

Thank you!!

THT

• Mick - You'll never know how good it is to hear the "Easy, Easy, EeeeeeeeSeeeee" chant from behind you in a race image

You just pop all those daft ideas and remind us we run for the love of it image

THT - I'd be amazed if you were not trying too hard. I'm no expert but the thing most beginners do is try too hard, too soon, too often.

Maybe it's the way we are but almost every runner does it.  Have you considered a HRM to measure your effort?

• <<

THT - I'd be amazed if you were not trying too hard. I'm no expert but the thing most beginners do is try too hard, too soon, too often.

Maybe it's the way we are but almost every runner does it.  Have you considered a HRM to measure your effort?>>

I might be trying too hard but it doesn't seem to feel that way image  Only when I near the end of my run and then its usually a stitch or my shins (have to run on pavement where I am). I don't ever really feel winded or like I have to stop to breathe etc - its usually these other issues that get to me.