Running Clubs

Does anyone know of a plodder-friendly running club in the Manchester area? The only clubs I know of round here are Sale Harriers and the like and they scare me silly.

Comments

• Being a total novice myself (and not local) I don't know the answer to that, so apologies for "joining in" on your thread - but I would like to find the same sort of thing in the Guildford area.

Running clubs can be quite intimidating if everyone's so much faster than you, even if they try to welcome you.
  • How right that is. I keep putting off joining a club thinking I have to run a sub 50 min 10k first!
  • fat facefat face ✭✭✭
    Hi Bean Counter, for Manchester based running clubs try the following:-

www.noeaa-athletics.org.uk/clubs

Give some a ring. You should be able to find a club to suit you.

HTH.

• Hi all

I am a recreational runner and 5k is my longest distance - just got a pb of 29.03 at the Southampton Race for Life

No good for Manchester but maybe of interest for Guildford or anyone else reading this.

I go to a 'Run 4 Fun' club in Basingstoke.

see www.220training.co.uk

cost £2 per session Monday night drills, Wednesday nights long runs - anything from 3.5 to 6.5 miles

Linda who takes the group is really good and is a duathlon champion

I am a recreational runner and 5k is my longest distance - just got a pb of 29.03 at the Southampton Race for Life
  • Beckstrous

The South of England AA office on 020 8664 7244 will have a list of running clubs in that area.

For other parts of the country:

AA of Wales office: 01633 416633
    Midland Counties AA: 0121 452 1500
    Northern ireland AA: 02890 602707
    North of England AA: 0113 246 1835
    Scottish Athletic Federation: 0131 317 7320
  • For a quality Running Club in Lincolnshire
    Ropsley Road Runners
    WWW.Ropsley.Org.UK
    A large website with massive LINKS and RACE REVIEW areas.
    Over 70 race reviews. Add your own review of any race.
    Lots MORE!!!