Garmin required or not?

Hello all.

Im a novice, been running under a year, but already done some 10k's and ive entered my first half marathon later in the year. As i am now training and not just upping my mileage, im finding it increasingly infuriating trying to log how i am improving by the old fashoined methods of clocking route mileage on my bike and then running it and timing myself with a stopwatch. Its also impossible to follow training plans accurately. Im looking at getting a garmin, but my, for a single mum they are a bit out of my price range!!

Can i have some views please? Are they worth the money? Do they make training easier? Im also not very technologically minded, so im scared of spending a large amount of money on something im not going to be able to use!!!

help and views please......image

Comments

• the garmin 305 is my latest running toy. I bought it on Amazon.

it is good but I also bought the lakes memory map software for my laptop. It is a good piece of kit but it is a bit nerdy. If you arent into all the computer software stuff then it isnt worth the money. it just over complicates the simple art of running.

But im a nerd.

there are cheaper less complicated heart rate monitors about. If you wan to track your route and mess around with all the training centre stuff, then Amazon is as good as many for price.

• You probably won't use 90% of the features of a garmin, but it is nice and easy to just download your runs and view them on a map, keep statistics etc. It's not essential though. Alternatively you could use a site like gmap-pedometer though there are lots of similar ones, to measure a route. Instead you could just see what your average pace has been for you last few runs and then just calculate by the time you've run. If you run 10 minute miles on average then if you've been out an hour, log 6 miles. If you went a bit slower or faster it isn't going to make a big difference.
  • hi confused.com,