SmartCoach Pacing

Comments

• I have been reading this thread and hoping for inspiration. I am new to running, I have done a few race for lifes. I attempted a 10k cancer research run at Harewood House last year but didn't really train properly. and got a bad time 1h15mins - it was v hilly at the end, but I was still rubbish.

I have entered the BUPA Womens run in June and want to do it in a reasonable time. I have got a plan from smartcoach that I have started to follow but having read such a variety of opinions am a bit unsure now.

It would be great to hear if anyone has actually followed a plan through and how it worked for them.

Ruth

• Ruth,

My advice would be to use the threads on www.fetcheveryone.com its a great running community and everyone is very freindly. If you have not used the site then have a look someone will guide you in the right direction.

Good luck

• Ruth, I've used Smart Coach to train for a 10k, having completed a 5k on a different programme. I had a few hiccups in my training by getting ill etc. but stuck with it, I was 1 week off completing the schedule because of being ill, but ran the race anyway. I'd never done more than 5miles and usually around 10.40 pace. I started out with a goal of completing in less than 60 mins, but accepted towards the end that if I could do it in 1hr 10 mins or less I'd be happy just to have done reasonably well. As it was, the adrenaline kicked in & I ran it in 58.24 with only 1 mile of the 6 under 10 mins - not something I'd have believed possible and something I have deliberately avoided doing in training - I knew I was capable of running faster, but not for very long stretches.