Official Photos - What a rip off!

Runing FLM was one of the greatest moments of my life. My first marathon took me right through the range of the emotions and crossing that line was an unforgettable moment.

Like most, I was keen to see my race photos which Marathonfoto were compiling as official photographers and like a good boy I had pre-registered some time ago.

When the notification finally came through today that they were ready to preview, I clinked on the link to see what they had come up with and I have to say I was disappointed. Im not a pro photographer but there was not a single decent finish photo.

Disappointment then turned to outrage when I looked at the costs. £12.95 for a single 7x5 print plus shipping. £34.95 to download one, yes one digital image. Initially I had 3 digital images in my basket till I went to the checkout and realised the total cost was in excess of £100.

In the end I opted for two 7x5 standard photos and the order with shipping is nearly £32. Am I being tight fisted? What do you think?

I ran GNR in 2006 and the official photos were much better and much cheaper. The marathon was the experience of a lifetime and I want something to remember it by. Ive got to say though, I will look at the photos when they came through and remember that somebody somewhere made a lot of money at runners expense.

Comments

• i feel exactly the same! absolute disgrace and my family took better ones of me! disappointing cause i was realyl looking forward to having something lovely
  • Totally agree. I ran in 2006, my first marathon. I couldn't afford the pics, plain and simple. They've now been deleted, and all I've got is the thumbnails.
  • WilkieWilkie ✭✭✭

At the Amsterdam marathon you get the photos taken in the olympic stadium at the end for free. 

Yes, free.

• Mr PuffyMr Puffy ✭✭✭

Wilkie do you get a nice cake as well?

• WilkieWilkie ✭✭✭
    Unfortunately not, Mr P!
  • Glad I'm not alone!!!!

I just started a thread called "Photo Rip off"