Darlington 10K

2»

Comments

• My parents live on the course and were standing by with a hose for the EXPECTED hot weather. Amazing how the storm was timed to perfection with the run. I think it made me more determined than ever to finish a race - guess it's a sort of runner-macho thing!!! In the end I did my fastest 10k of the year so I don't think the river slowed me down too much. Anyone know if the results will be online at all - back home in Surrey now.
  • I did promise a report!

Anyway what a fantastic day. I hope everyone else enjoyed the weather as much as me. Wasn't it just mad! (they will have to call it the darlington Grim next year)

I only started training again on monday (after 16 weeks off) and only decided to run after a 4.5 Mile run on friday. Set out to run a comfortable race and aimed for about 55 mins. Started of too fast at 4.30 1st KM then reigned back and did 5K in 25.30 comfortably (I think thats a good time for a 5K swim) anyway got itchy feet at that point and decided to go for a sub 50 min 10K, took it easy and slowly pulled back the time and with a fast last KM came in in 49.40.

Dead pleased with that even though its a personal worse! and I managed a negative split....techie stuff but I strongly recomend it, Felt absolutely great at the end. Had a nice chat to Wild Will and was sorry I didn't meet anyone else.

Got home to a totally colapsed gazebo..the weight of water had snaped to poles. Anyway sorted that, had sunday diner and then friends over till 10pm and have drunk lots of cold beers....great day

:o)
  • well, the timing of the rain was certainly impeccable. I don't think I've ever run in weather like it, particularly the rivers that suddenly appeared. I know sunglasses wont have helped, but the first 5k appeared to be in almost total darkness. And guess who forgot a towel and change of clothes ?!
    Apart from that it was great fun, and I'm fairly happy with 40:57.