TriUK packages

Having spent ages about what sort of bike to buy (very tempted by the Giant SCR2.0) I have decided that along withe the expense of new pedals and shoes (my cycleshoes are very very old) I would be better off going for a package. The TriUK package #1 seems excellent value as I can get pedals, shoes, helmet tri suit and wetsuit and bike all for the same price as a bike on its own.

Sooooo my question is has anyone else purchased this and what was your verdict, value for money vs quality etc? I am relatively new to triathlon and am not into spending silly money on a bike so was thinking around £400 for a decent entry level bike anyway. My current bike is at least 20years old, not sure as it was a hand-me down so reckon anything will be an improvement.

Comments

• You could probably get a similer spec and priced 'package' from any of the other tri-shops, but with a bit more flexibility on what's in there.  However, if you really need the whole lot then it's pretty good as a starter package.  It starts to lose out if you've already got shoes and helmet.
  • Shop around.

Look in 220, lot of adverts for packages in there. No matter what you buy, going to be a mistake if the bike and wetsuit don't fit! Try before you buy.

• as D74 says - many tri shops do packages - usually 3 at different prices according to your budget. for those starting out and perhaps little knowledge then they do offer good value