Helpful Hints for a Penguinette ?

hi all,
i love running, but im SO slow and cant go very far!! i found a running partner but it was so embarrassing as i run too slow, ive joined two (absolute beginners) running clubs but couldnt keep up! Im 32, and a normal weight and size and health but i just cant seem to make the grade. i do a 12 min mile and the furthest ive got is 3 miles. I gave up running as im so cr@p at it but i missed it so much i started again a couple of months ago. Now im back up to being able to run 2-2.5 miles without a walk included and have a 3-mile race ive entered 17th nov. I did the race for life in may and was gutted that i walked some of the way, i really want to run the whole 3 miles in nov. Any tips to help me would be great as i dont want to give up again !!

Comments

• You're running - that's all that matters. If running partners think you're too slow, find a different one!
  • Hi Penguinette,

You will get faster. I started running in April this year - very slow, and not pretty to watch but... I did a couple of races, and improved each time. Not super speedy, but there is an improvement there.

Now it is darker / colder I have started going to the gym in my lunch break to knock out 3 miles - it had been taking me about 30 minutes to do 3 miles. Yesterday I got it to 28.26 minutes for 3 miles - I was so chuffed I told all my colleagues (who think I am crackers anyway!).

So, hang in there. The repetition of running over the months will pay off eventually - just take your time, be patient, and one day you will notice you are running stronger, faster, more smoothly than you did.

Well done!

go-slow