Options

Scottish Runners

Comments

• Options
    I was looking for it... and here it is!!!! Im a beginner, so perhaps I shouldnt be in here, but it's scottish so... Im in east renfrewshire nr glasgow & can't find any near by running clubs or races!! (not that Im ready for 1!) Just come back from a run... I live in the country so I'm fortunate for scenery.. have roughly 10 midgie bites on my neck.... :(

and nettle stings!
  • Options
    Hi Jenni, met up with a fellow woman runner from Glasgow and she was a member of the Womens Running Network based in Glasgow. I think its based in various community centres around Glasgow and women meet up and run together a couple of nights a week. Don't know much about it or who to contact but you could try the Council Leisure Dept who might know.

Welcome to running and this forum.
  • Options
    thanks jane! yeah, i'll definitely look it up... no excuses on my part, my new saturday job starts on the 9th and it's in the library (community & leisure dept.) so seeing as I now work for them, it shouldnt be a problem!!!x
    womens running network sounds perfect, if they'll take a slow ass b like me!x
  • Options
    Better get the council to cut the hedgerows if its so overgrown you get nettle stings ..... as for midges they fly at 2.5m/s so as long as you go faster than 6 miles/hr or go a different direction (from where there going) they wont be able to bite you. EEyin from Gourock .... what was that Avon product midges didnt like? .... Im off to Loch Lomond camping this weekend so I might need some.
  • Options
    Avon Napalm EEyin

T
  • Options
    dont have midges in the East Coast. Suddenly realised too late when i went on hols to Oban. As for womens running when Lived in Glasgow I know Bellahouston harriers met at Cartha Rugby club and they ahd a good number of women runners who went out together
  • Options
    NessieNessie ✭✭✭