Is a 12 minute/mile a good time for a beginner?

My partner and I have just starting running to try and get in shape and lose weight. We go running (jogging
really) about 3 times a week on grass and put in times of around 10/11 minutes per mile. We can both manage about 2 miles, but feel we could be able to do 3 or 4 in the next few weeks.
I wear a heart monitor and during the second mile it showed as around 170 to 180bpm (I'm 29).

What kind of times should we be aiming for, and how quickly might we expect to improve ?

All comments welcomed!

Graham (and Sarah)

Comments

• I am a beginner and a 10 min miler. My plan is to get up to 6 miles non stop (I was up to 5 until I got the cold from hell for 2 weeks) and then look to improve my speed. The logic is to build stamina before speed.I ve heard that speed work can expose the untrained to a greater risk of injury.

There are buckets of programs on this site. As for the heart rate issue there is some calculation to find your optimal level but I cant remember it. Its probably on this site too

My advice:

1. Forget times & heart rate
    2. Build stamina & strength slowly
    3. Enter 10 k race
    4. Get drunk when you finish 3
    5. Introduce speedwork

Good luck

• Is that "get drunk when you finish 3 10ks" or "get drunk when you finish 3 miles". I vote for the latter.

I tend to run 8:30 - 9:00 min/miles, and I consider myself a beginner: I agree with WG - the general advice seems to be to go for "time on your feet" so start with rather than speed.

But I guess it depends what you're aiming for?
  • It doesn't matter if it's 2, 12 or 24 minutes - you're out ruuning! Do what feels right and you will get faster as you go any way.

All the best

H
  • The usual and best advice is to start slowly, don't increase mileage by more than 10% per week, walk if you need to, forget the HRM for now. Work on 'time on you feet' and don't worry about speed. It's not an overnight thing but it doesn't take for ever either.