hole in heart/migraine

Hi ,Ive been running for about five years,done a few 10ks,half maras and recently the FLM,Ive been having chest pains/palpitations for a few weeks and had two ECGs and a theyve been okay,They seem to think the pains have been a viral infection in the lining of my chest/heart.

Yesterday, I had a cardiac echo and they have found a hole in my heart which is totally unrelated to the symptoms I was having,However I have suffered from migraine attacks all of my life,getting roughly two a week and the doctors seem to think their is a link between the two and Ive been sent an appoinment to see a consultant, which will be great to maybe get rid of these attacks.

Has anyone ever heard of this ?

next week I am having a heart monitor fitted for 48hrs just to see if anything else turns up

Also being told youve got a hole in the heart doesnt exactly fill me with confidence for running or am I being paranoid.

Comments

• WilkieWilkie ✭✭✭

Logic would say that if you been running OK, and in fact the symptoms were not connected to the hole in your heart, then the hole isn't really a problem*.

However, if you're still getting pain in your chest and palpitations, I'd say don't run.

*Please note that I am completely unqualified in any way whatsoever to give any advice of a medical nature.  Or of any nature.

• spongecakespongecake ✭✭✭

Thanks Wilkie, dont worry Im taking it easy until the tests are finished.

Slugsta thats really helpfull,I wish the hospital had given me some information like that,Thankyou

• SlugstaSlugsta ✭✭✭
    you're welcome. Hope you get some answers soon.