When to buy racing trainers

I have been running for just over two years and I have just completed my second road marathon in 3:36 hours and now want to get a sub 1:40 on my half marathon. I am a serious over-pronator but before my last marathon I bough some orthotics which have made a massive difference. I am female, reasonably tall (1.78 m) and about right weight for my height (64 kg). I understand that racing shoes are lighter and so have less cushioning and stability. I was wondering, how fast do I have to be before I would benefit from racing trainers to get my half marathon PB and is there a body weight/speed ratio at which there is no benefit (and possibly more harm than good)? I really don't want to have all-the-gear-and-no-idea or spend money on something unnecessary. I'd appreciate any advice!

Comments

• I sound very similar to you, although I'm male. I've never worn a pair of racers, I don't think my ankles could take it. (Although I do wear spikes on a regular basis, so I might be contradicting myself.)

Could you put your orthotics in a pair of racing shoes to give you the necessary support? If you could, then there are pretty cheap racers out there.

• fat buddhafat buddha ✭✭✭
    racing shoes aren't necessarily going to make you any quicker. the main difference is that they are lighter but frankly, lose a bit of weight/adjust the clothes you wear to something lighter and you've made up the difference.

you're probably better off working on your speed and training regime irrespective of the shoe weight to go quicker.

there's no magical body speed/weight ratio that says use racers.

I'm over a 100kg and wear racing shoes for shorter triathlons - but that's because they are more comfy without socks than my standard shoes and I can get away with less support over shorter distances
  • marshallinimarshallini ✭✭✭