Which side of the road should I run?!

This might seem like a really stupid question, I have been running for over four years and always thought that runners were meant to run on the right hand side of the road, i.e. the same side as walkers - facing on-coming traffic.  However, my boyfriend has told me that I should run on the left - the same way as traffic.  I'm worried now as I do most of my running on rural roads where there are no pavements and need to make sure that I am doing the right thing!  Tried looking it up on the Highway Code website, but can't find anything related to running.  Please help!

Comments

• I think is safer doing as you do- Cars coming from behind are further away from you and you can see cars coming towards you-If they don't see you you can dive into the bushes.  If the HW code said to do the opposite would you do that instead of the safer thing? I will carry on runningn on the RHS regardless.
  • Funny you should mention this since I always thought the same as you, you should face traffic.  I got a right mouthful from a cyclist the other day however who said I was on the 'wrong' side though.  I then heard from someone else that you should always be on the left.  What gives????
  • fat facefat face ✭✭✭

I always run on the right side of the road whenever there is no pavement. Coming up to a bend in the road, I run on the side that offers the best view around the corner ie if the road bends to the right then I'll cross over to the left so that vehicle drivers can see me earlier and I can see them.

Keep your wits about you and just be prepared to dive off the road if need be.

And don't wear an Ipod. 

• Yeah - I go with FF - keep your wits about you - and I'd make sure I was wearing bright fluo kit in daylight, and if you risk it at night - reflective and flashing lights.
  • PhilPubPhilPub ✭✭✭