Sound vs Silence

Comments

• Do pilots wear Ipods when they fly planes?
  • Only if they are flying into a headwind!
  • HELLO

Music definatly , but it depends who you listen to, as my name suggests i am a musician and i was professional for a few years. Any good music with a straight 4/4 beat (eg) alot of steriophonics or manic street preachers generaly rock music and keep your pace right by making sure your right leg hits the ground every time the snare drum is played. Stay away from dance music its too hard to run to caus you cant keep in time to it plus you will probably have a headache by the time you stop running , also stay away from anything with a 3/4 beat this is a waltz so unless you want to dance down the road or have a very peculiar run its no use.

To help the uneducated musicians and maby help with there running a 4/4 beat is beat that has 4 beats to a bar ie (1234) (1234) listen to the drums and if you are counting right the snare will come in on the 4 of the beat this is when your leg should be making contact with the ground. I can recommend a great song to listen to its "Times like these by the Foo Fighters " . Hope this helps a bit just remember it has to be some form of rock music its yer only man and it helps keep you going and remember if you need to stop for a breather dont do it till the song stops that way i find i am always pushing myself that little bit extra

• And avoid "Golden Brown" by the Sranglers. It's in 7/8 I understand. LOL!

GR. V interesting post, I notice you don't mention bpm though. Often wondered about a playlist that greadually increased bpm to aid a fast time? Surely the 120bpm dance music "standard" must have some foundation in heart rate whilst boogying on down? Just a thought.