Advice please im a complete beginner

Hello all, im 24 and i have signed myself up for a half marathon for the 26th October although at the moment although i can only run for only 7 minutes before i have to walk again, im also a couple of stone overweight but am working on it!

Is it possible that i can do this 13.1 mile run? has/is anybody been in the same position? and can you give me any tips.

All help is appreciated thankyou

Comments

• whereabouts in the country are you Sarah (be vague its ok) maybe join a local club that takes beginners.
  • It maybe a tad ambitious, but if you knuckle down and train to a decent schedule, then you should be ok.

As for tips, properly fitted running shoes are a must, rest days are very important, don't over train, listen to your body, and enjoy it.

Might be an idea to chuck in a 5k and 10k race prior to the HM aswell

• Sarah

Welcome  image  image  image

hoping you are well

try and remember - we were ALL of us once in this position

you need to build up your walking and running very gradually and regularly

it'll take time - but you can do it- you need to watch what your eating, and make sure your WELL           hy-drated before you venture out - The correct footwear is VITAL - as maybe be vaseline etc for certain parts

October is a long way away yet, you can be fitter by then than you think if you gently knuckle down to it all   - and don't forget  we'll all be with you - you won't be alone

you've got all sorts of help on RW - humour, fun, general chat, serious running talk and help - it's all here

just try and be positive and keep relaxed and ENJOY what ever you do - a CLUB as some one said is a great idea - and you'll have a trial period, there's nothing to lose - all to gain

best wishes

http://www.micknphil-marathonlads.com/

• Birmingham half marathon I take it? I'll see you there.

This is a beginners HM programme: