Are my Asics GT2070s leading to hip pains?

I've been running for a couple of years and up until about 3 weeks ago i've just run in a "normal" pair of running shoes bought from a high street sports shop.

About 6 weeks ago i did my back in so i thought to reduce the chances of this happening again i need a proper pair of runners. I went to a running shop and was given a lot of time and was told i am an slight over pronator. It was recommended anything out of the Asics range should do (they had several other makes). I was told that the GT2070 is Britains biggest selling shoe, so thought that'll do for me.

Ever since my left hip has been really painful. I've had knee, back and ankle problems in the past but never any problems with my hips.

I'm off to see a sports physio tonight but was curious if anyone else has a similar experience. I can't really afford to spend another £70 on a pair of shoes but i'm begining to think i've got no choice.

Comments

• No idea but take your new and old shoes along to the physio - they might give them some clues.
  • Hi Paul - not exactly the same experience but...I started running three months ago and was told I was a neutral runner. So bought recommended shoes. After a few weeks I started getting pains in my right knee and quads. Went to another running shop and told I overpronate. So bought recommended Asics 1070s. After a fortnight in these, I'm now getting bad ankle pain in my right leg. So next week I've booked in to have a proper gait analysis done by a podiatrist. This will cost a bit more than yet another pair of shoes, but I hope it will be worth it. I'm getting really miserable not being able to run without it really hurting...it was bad enough will all the ordinary beginner's aches. I'd be really interested to know what your physio says tomorrow - do post what happens.
  • I had a similar experience with the 2060's. I seemed to be spending more time at the Physio than out runnng.