Night Shifts

I've just started working nights full-time at the hotel i've been working at for the past 2 years. The shift starts at 11pm and ends at 7.30am. What time would people recommend is the best time to fit my running in?

At 7.45am after I finish work but before I try and catch some sleep?

Or in the afternoon, after i've slept and before the next shift?

Comments

• ClagClag ✭✭✭

I would reckon it's just a case of what works best for you. My dad used to work nightshift at times and he would always come home and go straight to bed, being more active in the late afternoon/evening, where others I know prefer to have their 'evening' in the morning and then get up to go to work as you would if you were a daytime worker.

I guess it all depends on whether you can sleep straight after your runs and also how it all fits in with your life and social commitments.

• Pammie*Pammie* ✭✭✭

Paul - it'll be a matter of trial and error. I have worked nights since October 2006> What i do is go home can't go to sleep straightaway need an hour to wind down

I go to bed when i wake i fit in a run when i get up. Good to run in the daylight particularly in the winter months

You could try a run straight after (or even run home if thats feesible) don't know the nature of your job, my job is physical and so don't feel like a run straight after, but you might be different. Give it a try. Maybe try some runs after your sleep see what you prefer

Another thing don't know if you get some time between one shift pattern ends and the next one starts if so make the most  of that to get in some decent running

• Hi Paul,

I've been working rotating shifts for over 25 years now - that's a lot of nights!!image