Running while pregnant?

Hiya. Felt too nervous to ask this on any established thread so thought I'd throw this out there and see if anyone has any suggestions. Have just found out I'm pregnant and while I was at the docs talking about something unrelated, I asked if it's ok for me to continue running. My doc looked totally disgusted and said definitely no. She said "It might be ok for the likes of Paula Radcliffe, but not someone like you". I'm a bit peeved because although I'm a relative newbie, (on and off running for several years but have been running most days now for 7 months)  I've worked hard to get to the point I'm finally comfortable with running and I know I'm going to get as cranky as hell without it. I plan on asking the midwife the same question when I first see her but I was wondering if the pregnant runners out there could give an opinion?! Incidently, I asked my doc a couple of other questions about other things and her answer was "I don't know" with no suggestion of how to get the answer therefore my faith in her is limited. Thanks.

Comments

• ChynahChynah ✭✭✭

I am pregnant too (18 weeks) and still regularly run & I have done 2 10Ks and a 10 miler since finding out (although at slightly slower pace).  My Doctor said that it was fine for me to continue as long as I didn't push myself or let myself overheat and my midwife showed no concern when I mentioned that I ran.  It may be different if you have any risks associated with your pregnancy but everything I have read has been supportive of the benefits to both mum and baby.

Pop over to the Pregnant Runners Thread under Health & Injury as there are lots of pregnant ladies there who can offer good advice and a place to chat through concerns.

• It's perfectly safe and makes for a much happier, healthier pregnancy. I ran until I was about 5 months, when it became uncomfortable.  My BP was incredibly healthy, and I had no problems at all.