What am i doing?? seriously confused girl here!!

Hello all, ive got my first ever race on 7th Sep and its a 10k at Sutton Park, Birmingham. Ive been running for a couple of months now but only in gym on treadmill, when i started i cud only run for 2mins then couldnt breath and had to stop now i go the gym 3-4 times per week run for half hour slow with 5 mins here and there fast, and i do some crosstraining, weights and cycling too so i was feeling pretty confident.

Until...

My boyfreind got me out of bed at 6.30am this morning and took me on a run for real 'SCARY OR WOT' after a couple of mins i had to stop and catch my breath and this happened throughout the half hour we were out. So there i was thinking i was good enough to do it and now im havin palpitations every time i think of race. What went Wrong??

i did go the gym last night for 1hr 45mins and worked out hard could this have caused me to completely lose my breath after just a couple of mins running though? Im also 2.5 stone overweight but wouldnt this affect me on treadmill as well?

Any answers will be very appreciated thanks

Comments

• Was he leading you at a pace just a bit too fast maybe?  That could havethe effect of getting you breathless.  No big deal if so - just go at your own pace in the race

Equally it could be a bug maybe or something else affecting you - we all have bad days

• WilkieWilkie ✭✭✭

You probably ran faster than you are used to, is all.  It really takes it out of you.

Go out on the road at your own pace, and you'll feel much better.

Also, did the run start up hill?  Do you put the treadmill on an incline?  If you don't you are going to have difficulty outside, where there is wind, and gradient, to make it much harder.

I can run waaaaaay faster on a treadmill than I can outside (although this is the opposite to what many people find).  If you're the same, you'll just have to go a bit slower outside.