John o'groats to land's end

I've been having some insane idea for a while now of running from John o'groats to land's end. But where do you start with planning and training?

I was just wondering if anyone else had had a similar insane idea (and maybe gone through and done it)? Or maybe they know somewhere I could get some information or can just offer some advice (other than don't be so stupid!).

My background is that I've done 5 slowish marathons in my time (PB 4:14)but nothing further. At the moment I'm doing about 30 miles a week training with my longest runs 12 miles or so. Obviously there'd be a very long way to go but maybe next summer could be realistic? I think it would be a really good target to aim to do it within a month but that would require an average of 30+ miles a day - I know it's possible as the world record is 10 days or so I believe.

Anyway, I'll stop rambling and let someone else put a comment in!

Many thanks in advance for any advice.

Comments

• DazDaz ✭✭✭
    i saw the thread and i thought cool, id love to cycle that sometime. then i realised you were refering to running.

nutcase!
    Endurance Coach @ DazCarterFitness.com
    Elite Ironman, Ultra Trail Runner
  • I thought of cycling or walking it but decided that was too easy. In any case I'm a runner goddamit so if I'm going to do it I'll run!
  • DazDaz ✭✭✭
    fair do's!
    Endurance Coach @ DazCarterFitness.com
    Elite Ironman, Ultra Trail Runner
  • ! I will ride it one day, when I have time, but I'm not gonna kill myself doing it. Should be enjoyable.

30 days of 30+ miles would be brutal. I don't fancy it - but good luck !
  • Peter,

I've cycled it, and also ran from Paris to London at an average of around 30 miles a day (230 miles for 8 days). The thing that kills you is the daily stopping and starting. It's really hard starting every morning.