Newbies 2

Comments

• Thanks for the advice TTN and Meglet.

I'll check out the rest of the site.

My photo is still being 'looked at' by the Runnersworld powers that be - perhaps my face is too round to be acceptable, judging by Meglet's recent added masterpiece? image

• Hi Everyone,

I'm relatively new to running. Always loved sport but with 2 small children, husband, house, full time job with travel etc etc (all the old excuses) I've recently discovered that running is something I can do anywhere, anytime and really enjoying it. I started with R4L in July, and am now training for the Great South Run 10mile. I'm finding that it takes at least 20-25 mins running at a really slow pace to get my body going, then I can really up the pace without my heart rate going nuts. Any advice as to how I can run at the faster pace sooner, without impacting the length of time I run for? This is a great Forum and I hope to join it regularly. K  image

• Hi RRJ and Blue KJ, welcome.

BKJ, I'm also doing the GSR this year...I'm even starting to loo forward to it. I think that you may need to have those few minutes to warm up, I always find that if i start off at all quickly then I am panting and Hr is through the roof in no time. I would suggest you just try and gently up the pace a little over the first few minutes, I start off at about a 7 min K speed, then as i start to warm up i up that to6min, then 5min etc (i think find i start to slow back down again after a while but that is more lack of endurance) You could also try doing some tempo runs to build in that underlying speed.  How's your training for GSR going?

Meglet, that pic is fantastic image. everything i tried to upload they said was too big, maybe my camera has too many pixles or something.