A new 10k in under 60 mins thread?

Comments

• hi and welcome vicky.

just my 2 cents as they say buy i'm of the school of thought that when you're just starting out to just focus on gradually increasing the time you can run each time and not get too caught up on speed or intervals - once you've got the endurance then start building in the speed. but i'm only a beginner myself so take anything i say with a pinch of salt.

did 8 miles today in 93 minutes. was a big old slog especially at the beginning but once i hit 5 miles i found i was able to maintain that mystical 10 minute mile pace quite comfortably.

i think i really need to start thinking about fuel though on these longer runs. at 80 minutes today, with no warning at all it was like the power went out suddenly and had to walk 3 minutes before starting on a very sorry jog home. ah well.. is all miles in the legs.

i wonder how our nike 10k people are getting on...

i've put my hip out. not sure if it's running related or sleeping funny or some weird twisty sit ups i did but it's taking me about 5 minutes to get upright when i stand up it's so sore! or maybe i am just old before my time!

• Hi Vicky, and welcome!

I agree with Plod.  Concentrate on your endurance first, gradually increasing time/distance.  Once you've got that, then you can start speed training.

I've been running for about 16 months now, but its only in the last 2 that I've started to do any speed sessions.  For the first year I just ran according to how I felt.

As I think my cold has just about gone, I hope to go out tomorrow for a gentle 2 miles.  See how I feel when the alarm goes off at 5:30 image

• The Nike 10k is possibly the wettest and coldest race I've ever done!

And my official time was EXACTLY the same as my previous 10k, right down to the second! 1:12:22. Am trying to decide whether to be gutted I didn't beat it, or impressed with my accidental consistency.