New with concerns!

Morning All (well, it's Morning now, as I write this!)

I've been running for maybe 4-5 months now, got a 5k and a 10k under my belt and feel good about that, however I feel like a kid in a sweet shop with all the other runs available!

Now I have no idea about general ages of other runners etc as Im 28 but feel that my fitter years are behind me (even though this is the first major bit of exercise I've started doing).

Do I keep up with the 5-10k runs or do I push on to the 10mile/half marathons? Im ok going at 6-7k in one burst and my average speed is just under 6min a km (which I also want to improve!)

So general advise is being requested here..... do I work on longer distance or faster time? Do I keep to the know or push for those longer, more challenging runs?

Finally, I've just added footie training to my regime and the front of my legs (top) are killing today, 2 days later........ seriously, stairs are killing me........ any ideas to relieve the pain!? 

Any advice helpful, thanks in advance, and HELLO to all you other runners!

Comments

• I'd just find the distance that you enjoy. Always seem to be a wide variety of ages at all races. If faster times drive you on, then aim for that. Likewise you might want to go all out and try marathon/ultra running.
  • Paul, Don't understand............ "my fitter years are behind me"????????? Yet this is the first time in your 28 years you've started exercising!!  Your fittest years are in front of you then surely?! image

Simple answer - you do as you feel.  No one else can tell you which distances will become your most competively succesful.  I assume that is what you are driving at?  Which distance will you be best at at your age?  You seem to imply that at 28 you are an 'older' runner but you are certainly not.  The age group for M is up to 40, you won't be a V until then!