Great North Run 2009

Comments

• "Mother - how did you feel seeing TWO vicki thompson's yesterday? image"

One very proud 'mother' image

I applaude all of you who took part in the race yesterday . Well done everyone image

• Mr KMr K ✭✭✭
    Hey Anson - I missed saying hello to you at the ballons image I`m catching with all the posts & unpacking here but good effort with your race all things considered - same time next year??? 
  • Hi everyone

This is my first post, hope you don't mind me joining this thread. I started running this year and have recently joined a local running club. When started running was never going to do a race but really want to now! Would really like to enter the Great North Run next year, how do I go about it ?? Any advice for a complete beginner?? Thanks Jo x 

• Hi Mr K - I didn't hang along for very long at the balloons, was feeling a bit shy and overwhelmed by the day so just headed off to my pen to get prepared! Was nice to put a few faces to names though and in hindsight wished I'd stayed longer but there's always next year!

• Mr K - I was next to Scooby Doo in the warm up - quite surreal doing aerobic warm up along side a man dressed as a giant dog! He was a very friendly guy. He then went further forward in the pen (Zone B) and I stayed at back of Pen as not keen on being too tightly packed in. I then ran past Scooby at the top of that incline just after Tyne Bridge. I am sure he didnt come past me again. I did 1:55:41 so unless he did between 1:56 & 1:57 it is probabyl safe to say you beat him!
  • Jo

Welcome to the thread. image

GNR is done on a ballot basis, but the ballot isn't open yet. If my memory serves me correctly it's the first part of the year it opens.

If you go to the Great Run website and you can ask them to send you a reminder email to register for the ballot.

Although don't wait until GNR to do some races. Get some other ones under you hat. It's the best part of running IMO.