10k Training

Hello,

I was wondering if anyone had any advice for me?

I am relatively new to running, having done my first race for life in June non stop in 35 minutes (albeit with a slightly slower friend!).  It was such a fantastic experience that I am determined to complete a 10k next year, and am still running on the road about 2 or 3 times a week for 25-30 minutes, as much as my time as a busy mum (of four!) allows!

I am thinking about joining my local gym throughout the winter to keep up the running on the treadmill, but am concerned that the treadmill training won't be as beneficial as the road running, having read in the magazine and experiened first hand that treadmill running is not as challenging as road running.

How can I make the most out of my treadmill running throughout winter so that I can emerge in the spring more competent to run a 10K on the road??

Any suggestions??

Thanks

Steph x

Comments

• I do 10k with a combination of both.

At the weekend its a long slow run outdoors during the day.  Say up to 8 miles.

Tuesday say do a tempo run on the treddie of about 3 or 4 miles.

Thursday do intervals work on the treddie say 6 x 800m at race pace with the equivalent time doing recovery in between.

In order to equate to outdoor effort the incline on a treadmill should be increase from flat to next setting up.

• In my view providing you do at least one or two runs a week outside you can pretty much treat treadmill running equal to outdoor running (except you'll have to use your imagination to visualise that car pulling out on you from a side street and the rabid dog from the estate chasing you). 

There is a slight difference in action between the two but it is so small that it hardly matters, and this can be ironed out by doing at least one run a week outside.