eating disorder

I'm a 25 year old female, competitive, runner with an eating disorder. I realize that I need to ingest a certain amount of calories as a runner but with an eating disorder this is rather difficult. I would appreciate any information on literature on the subject. Cheers.

Comments

• oh my god
    thats a hard one, and im no expert
    but
    be careful you dont translate you eating disorder into the exercise
    are you multi impulsive?

good luck
  • Eating Disorder Association

Something fishy

It's a big topic, I'd try to get some help aside from websites. The exercising and eating disorder may all be part of the same thing.
  • A big topic indeed.

I have a phone number as well somewhere but can't find it at the moment, but I think it's probably the one on the first website.

I'm no expert either, but I've known/taught several people with ED's so I do have some experience of it. Enough to say take it seriously and get proper advice.
  • what came first the running or the eating disorder ?

i think eating disorders can be quite common amongst female competitive runners - maybe because of the 'need' to be a certain weight (and british athletics used to be notorious for encouraging women athletes to be thinner)

can you work out what is important for you - improved performance or being in control of your eating as i guess that your performance can be hampered by the eating disorder

what about some weight training to gain some muscle - not fat - which will improve your running and also help up your metabolism so you will keep your body fat low whilst being able to eat a little more
  • Hi Eilis,

I had an eating disorder and it got out of hand. Please see your doctor. I thought that mine would be angery for some reason but he wasn't. My disorder came about for a number of reasons. First it was a car accident and then I was told to loose weight.