Making a comeback a chat and inspiration

Guys

I have been running for quite a few years now and my Last Marathon was London 2006 - my 11th and 12 marathons in all, 50odd halves so quite experienced

At the end of 2007 the wheels seemed to fall of my running and I lost a lot of interst and my mileage lowered considerably and all the enthusiasm went, this contined so I didnt run enough to even warrant putting in my daily diary for June July August  this year (I have kept a running log)  for at leat 6 years. Unfortunatly the guy I run with is much faster than me so I dont go with him anymore as I am embarrased about my own fitness and holding him back.

I turned 50 in July and got a bit down about it and August went by with minimal mileage picked up in September and the old enthusiasm is back but unfortunatly I have put on a stone and lost fitness and I am now struggling round 4 miles slowly.

I am moving to Scotland soon and want to run Edinburgh, Loch Ness and Locahabar and also have another crack at 3:30 at London 

My other half thinks exercise is a foreign language which doesnt help either. So I am coming back to the forum. Sorry to bore you all but I needed to talk to someone and get this off my chest. Off for 4 miles later ( Dont think I will be in marathon shape again until 2010)

Comments

• Pammie*Pammie* ✭✭✭

Hello 3:30 - Welcome home

I'm not experienced marathon wise only done 2.

I think you have to start again as a beginner, but it won't take as long for your body to get used to it again something to do with muscle memory. Build the miles back up slowly and probably do the first marathon without any expectations. The weight will start to fall off once you get back into the swing of things

Good luck and keep posting

• Pammie

Your right as I am doing this small 3.16 miles route and it seems like a marathon in itself