Sore hip - any ideas

I have been running for about 4 months and after a run last week I got a pain in my right hip. It feels quite a sharp pain and is located deep in my hip, feels like the actual hip socket. It is only sore when I run and the odd time when I get up off a seat. I have tried rotating my hip and moving it in different ways to see if I can replicate the pain, but I can't. I have rested it now for 7 days and only done two 3 mile walks in that period. The pain has eased slightly, but when tested with a 20 metre jog the pain is still there everytime my right foot strikes the ground. The pain isn't severe and I could run with it but my gut feeling is that doing so would be a bad idea.

I was running about 25 miles per week with a 7 mile long run and 4 or 5 mile runs 3-4 times during the week. I have been careful to increase mileage gradually. Several weeks previously I had a sore right instep/arch, stopped running for a week, pain subsided and I started running again. Then a week after starting back, my hip feels sore. I suspect that I may have been running slightly 'gingerly' after my instep/arch injury which may have resulted in my right hip not moving as it should. The pain in my hip occurred after a hard 5 mile run.

Regarding shoes, I bought a pair of Asics Gel 3000's from a well known running shop who carried out a basic gait analysis (walking up and down the shop barefoot) and had clocked up 100 miles in them before the injury.

I have searched the forum and haven't been able to find anything similar. Has anyone any thoughts or suggestion. Apologies for the length of the post, but I wanted to set out as many facts as I could.

Comments

• Hey....check out  www.physioroom.com  in the injuries section.....it has helped me self diagnose lots of times!
  • Thanks for that.