road & gym

Hi all - I have been running for about six months and am looking/hoping to do a half marathon at the end of October. While I obviously enjoy training on the road I also enjoy the treadmill at my gym.Is this good/bad practice? anybody else experiencing this dilema? What proportion of each is advisable?

Comments

• I use the treadmill and even with a 2% incline (suggested for imitating road running) I find it a bit easier than road running, probably due to the outside elements and the effect they have on my body (weather conditions mainly, breathing).

Beth
  • The general advice is that if you are racing a specific sport, then your training should match the racing conditions as closely as possible i.e. running outside.

That said running inside is a reasonable substitute and certainly better than not running at all. After all Ingreid Kristiansen set a marathon world record after running through the Norwegian winter on a treadmill.
  • The treadmill is a good starting point and well done on running with it set at an incline. Remember though - the road is harder underfoot so you probably need more shock absorbsion in your shoes, the weather, as mentioned is also there to contend with, but then again, it's more interesting to run outdoors and watch the world go by instead of watching in the mirror/tele/video in a gym.
  • From my previous experience using treadmills I found that i often job pains in the front of my shins - I belive they're called "shin splints" - I found my way round this was to minimise use of treadmill to only days with snowy / icy conditions and to do about first mile run/brisk walk all on a 1% incline to add a touch of restriction.

Hope this helps