Phobias

A serious topic from me for once

A couple of months ago, I set off for the monthly meeting in Dunchurch to sort out the Mick n Phil Half Marathon. I've been driving for 20 years, never had any problems in a car, although I did have a nasty experience on a motobike donkeys years ago.   

I got as far as junction 14 of the M1 with no problems.  The weather was shitty and horrible, absolutely p*ssing with rain, and the visibility was not good.  It's a very long way from junction 14 of the M1 to junction 15, and something happened on the way.  I kind of got mesmerised by the unchanging view, and the world started to narrow, the way it does when you're going to pass out.  I knew that if I pulled onto the hard shoulder, I'd never get off again, so I opened all the windows and sang loudly, kept going, came off at the next exit (eventually, it was a long time coming), phoned to say I wouldn't make the meeting and very, very slowly drove home again.  I had to go back down the motorway because I was literally too scared to cross lanes to drive down the A road home again via Bedford.  My heart was hammering the whole way, and I was in such a state that I was having to think consciously about every move when driving, from changing gear to which foot to put on which pedal.  How I made it home without having an accident I'm not sure, as I was a serious mess.

This is so unlike me.  I've tried motorway driving twice since then, and had a complete panic attack both times.  This is going to seriously mess up my life if i don't get it sorted - any suggestions?

Comments

• Get an instructor to go out on the motorway with you a few times?
    Good luck.
  • Cheers Bearlegs, I'll give it a go.