Blisters!

Hello.

I've been running now for many years, half marathons, 10K runs, Edinburgh marathon last year and now training for FLM.

Just bought some new Mizuna Wave Alchemy 8 shoes and after running a 10 mile training run last week, the ball of my left foot was quite tender but went away but just completed the Helsby half marathon and felt a pain again from about mile 7.

When I finally took the shoes off after driving home, I had a sizeable blood filled blister in the same position.

Shall I persist with these shoes, which were £60, or do I chalk it up to bad luck and buy a new pair, hoping that these are ok?

I have never had blisters before and need to start cranking up the mileage.

Hope someone can offer some advice. My legs feel good, but my foot hurts!

Jon

Comments

• Hi Jon,

I have got the same problem....currently using Muzino Inspire Wave and have a nasty blister on the arch of my left foot......common sense prevailed and i didnt go out today.... ;-(

On another forum I was reccomended New Balance, which is  reassuring as when I was training for the FLM in 2006 I suffered from blisters and chenged to the NB's....and everything cleared up..

Good luck....doing the FLM too this year...hopefully blister free! 

• I used to have Mizuno Wave Alchemy 7s and I got blisters quite a lot. I now use NBs almost exclusively and rarely get them. Like Dave my blisters were always on the arch of my foot.

Maybe 10 miles was a bit too far for the first run in new shoes so you could try a few shorter runs to see how you go til they're broken in a bit more maybe?

• I have been running in Wave inspires and getting blisters on my arches! i previously tired brooks still got blisters! I think  a lot of it is to do with the shape of your feet!
  • hi PQ...