Running with a friends when at different levels

Hi,

I am very new to running (started two weeks ago), I am now running for 10 mins without having to stop and walk and am running for 3 miles, 3 times per week.  I have built this up over the past couple of weeks and have seen a massive improvement in endurance.

I have a friend who also wants to join me running this week.  She is a little behind me and can probably only run for a minute without having to stop to walk.

If we run together, will the endurance I have built up over the past couple of week suffer as I will be running at my friends pace.  I also  have another friend who has been running for quite a while longer and can run 2 miles without stopping. 

I would love to run with both of them but feel I will be stopping my faster friends progress and pehaps my slower friend will hinder my progress.

Should we all continue to run seperatley or is there a way we can all run together.  We all have the same aim of the Great North Run later this year.

Comments

• i find when I run with people we tend to go slower than I would on my own. I dio think this has in parts impacted on my speed. But, I prefer it this way. It helps motivate me to go with other people, and I try and run on my own too, and push myself faster when I do.

I've run with people who are much faster than me, what happened was he ran off ahead then waited at each turning point (joggin up and down) this coudl work but might be demotivating for the person behind if they've only just started. Another option is for you to do a bit of a run on your own, then meet your friend to continue at her pace. You'll have gone further  so your stamina shouldn't suffer and you'll have the benefit of company.

• I like the sound of the last option.  Thanks